Share Print

Barnes-Jewish Hospital Cancer Committee

The Cancer Committee is comprised of representatives from specialties and subspecialties involved in the diagnosis, treatment and support of cancer patients, including but not limited to surgery, medical oncology, radiation oncology, diagnostic radiology, pathology, the cancer liaison physician, hospital administration, nursing, social services, oncology data services and clinical quality.


  • Develop and evaluate annual goals and objectives for clinical, educational and programmatic endeavors related to cancer care.
  • Promote a coordinated multidisciplinary approach to patient management.
  • Ensure educational and consultative cancer conferences cover all major sites and related issues and are available to the medical staff and allied health professionals.
  • Ensure an active supportive care system for patients, families and staff; evaluating adverse drug reactions and medication errors and making appropriate recommendations to prevent their occurrence.
  • Advise the pharmacy in the implementation of effective distribution and control procedures for all drugs (including investigational drugs).


Michael Chicoine
Maria Dans
Farrokh Dehdashti
Teresa Deshields
Amy Glueck
Lydia Grimes
Lori Grove
Rita Helgenberg
Jennifer Ivanovich
Liz Kahlicak
Kimberly Kaphingst
Lisa Kehlenbrink
Karen Kharasch
Susan Kraenzle
Alexander Krupnick
Trisha Lollo
Christina Longnecker
Julie Margenthaler
Jennie Mayfield
Wilfred Milton
Elizabeth Mulcahy
David Mutch
Matthew Mutch
Cynthia Newsome
Brian Nussenbaum
Heather Orr
Jay Piccirillo
Joel Picus
Robert Portwood
Lesley Rao
Anne Rihanek
Romee Rizwam
Jane Ruhland
Marianna Ruzinova
Shabbir Safdar
Gurdarshan Sandhu
Julie Schwartz
Steven Strasberg
Robert Swarm
Christine Swyres
Victor Trogden
Barbara Westland
Katie Wrenn

Last updated: 7/11/14